Voges and Hussey seal dramatic last ball victory

Javinder Singh | cricket20

The Perth Scorchers sealed their place in the KFC Big Bash final thanks to an incredible eight wicket Duckworth Lewis victory over the Melbourne Stars after an amazing finish at the WACA in Perth.

With the tension mounting and three runs needed off the final ball of the match James Faulkner (1-22) bowled a front foot no ball which Adam Voges (36) scored a single from to leave Michael Hussey (18) needing just to score one run from the free hit which he duly did to spark wild celebrations at the WACA.

It proved to be a wild finish to a high scoring match which was interrupted by rain twice to leave the Scorchers needing 139 runs from 13 overs after the Stars recorded a total of 183-2 from 18 overs.

Shaun Marsh led the run chase with a quick fire 68; after a slow start Marsh ignited the Scorchers run chase after he smashed debutant Alex Keath (0-27) for 27 runs in the 6th over to put the home side on top.

Marsh continued the charge and even though he was dismissed by Faulkner in the 10th over, Voges and Hussey held their nerve to seal a stunning victory which broke the hearts of the Stars once again.

Having suffered defeat at the WACA last year against the Scorchers in the semi finals the Stars came out all guns blazing thanks to Cameron White who smashed 88 runs from 53 balls including nine boundaries and five sixes after being promoted up the order.

Brad Hodge (70) offered support during a third wicket stand of 120 and even though their innings was curtailed by rain the Stars felt confident of avenging their defeat last year before the heroics of Marsh dashed their hopes once again.

With the home side celebrating the Stars will once again look back and think what could have been as they missed out on a place in the Champions League for a second consecutive year.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB